Login

BookWoman

    • Wed, January 10, 2018
    • 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
    • William Reif Gallery
    Register

    Wednesday, January 10
    9:30-11:00am

    Born a Crime
    by Trevor Noah

    Trevor Noah's unlikely path from apartheid South Africa to the desk of The Daily Show began with a criminal act: his birth. Born to a white father and a black mother at a time when such a union was punishable by five years in prison, he was living proof of his parents' indiscretion. This is the story of a restless young man as he struggles to find himself in a world where he was never supposed to exist.


    • Wed, February 14, 2018
    • 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
    • William Reif Gallery
    Register

    Wednesday, February 14
    9:30-11:00am

    We Bought a Zoo
    by Benjamin Mee

    In the tradition of Marley and Me comes a memoir about  the mysteries of the animal kingdom, the power of family, and the triumph of hope over tragedy in this chronicle of the Mee family's purchase of the Dartmoor Wildlife Park, a dilapidated zoo in the English countryside.


    • Wed, March 14, 2018
    • 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
    • William Reif Gallery
    Register

    Wednesday, March 14
    9:30-11:00am

    The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win WWII 
    by Denise Kiernan

    At the height of WWII, Oak Ridge, Tennessee was the home to a secret city that did not appear on any map. Thousands of civilians, many of the young women, were recruited to this secret city by the promise of solid wages and war-ending work. Very few knew what they were doing there, and they wouldn't find out until the end of the war, when Oak Ridge's secret was revealed and changed the world forever.


    • Wed, April 11, 2018
    • 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
    • William Reif Gallery
    Register

    Wednesday, April 11
    9:30-11:00am

    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis 
    by J.D. Vance

    The Vance family story began with hope in postwar America. J.D.'s grandparents were "dirt poor and in love" and moved north from Kentucky's Appalachian region to Ohio in the hopes of escaping the dreadful poverty around them. Eventually one of their grandchildren would graduate from Yale Law School, a conventional marker of success in achieving generational upward mobility. But as the family saga of Hillbilly Elegy plays out, we learn that J.D.'s family struggled profoundly with the demands of their new middle-class life.



Office Phone: (815) 877-0118

Fax: (815) 877-0265


3333 Maria Linden Dr.

Rockford, IL 61114


Monday - Thursday

9:00a - 5:00p


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software